Why There Are Mountains

album Track Listing

1. ...And The Hazy Sea
2. Some Trees (Merrit Moon)
3. Indiana
4. Cold Spring
5. Share
6. What Dogs See
7. Wind Phoenix (Proper Name)
8. Living North
9. Like Blood Does
10. Tunguska

Details Why There Are Mountains

“One of the best indie albums of the year” NME

 “A glorious cacophony of xylophones, guitar noise and melodic bliss” Q

 “A sublime listen from start to finish” The Fly

“Epic hymns and ambitious grandeur” Artrocker

“Remarkably assured” Pitchfork ‘Best New Music’

“Four hustling musicians who’d struck gold on the songwriting front, crafting a beastly, obtuse album.” RCRD LBL

Having only formed in the Spring of 2008, it’s been a meteoric DIY rise for young hotly tipped Staten Island four-piece Cymbals Eat Guitars. July saw their inaugural visit to the UK, as they played a handful of sold out shows including headlining a ‘Rough Trade presents’ night at The ICA and one of the hottest and loudest gigs ever played at the Windmill, Brixton (where the band were met by hardcore fans who had travelled all the way down from Scotland to see them).

Now, Cymbals Eat Guitars release their critically acclaimed debut album Why There Are Mountains in the UK on October 26th through Memphis Industries (home to The Go! Team, Field Music, Tokyo Police Club amongst others) who snapped the band up having seen the aforementioned July gigs.

The album’s opening track (and the band’s debut UK single) ‘…And The Hazy Sea’ is a sprawling, multi-layered, six minute gate-crasher that acts as a serious statement of intent for the band’s ambitions. Songs like ‘Wind Phoenix’ and ‘Cold Spring’ showcase the band’s ability to pair chaotic yelps and sinuous riffs from lead singer/guitarist Joseph D’Agostino with pounding drums alongside melodic bass lines and lush orchestral layers from Brian Hamilton’s keyboards.

Produced by Kyle “Slick” Johnson (Modest Mouse, The Hives), listening to Why There Are Mountains, with its time signature changes, Pavement meets Mogwai guitars and moments of beatific calm, you’ll realise you are listening to something very special indeed.

Quite simply, Cymbals Eat Guitars are one of the most beguiling and exciting talents to come out of the USA for a good while.