album Track Listing

1. Eventually
2. Buffalo
3. Flock Of Hearts
4. Pot
5. Bitte Bitte
6. Skeleton
7. Orange & Mango
8. Bailey's Beach
9. Wonton
10. Golden Ship

Details Buffalo

"An album that already seems destined to be among the best of 2011" ***** the Guardian

"New Zealand's finest purveyors of psychedelic Pop" **** The Times

"Undislodgable melodies. A lovely album" **** The Sunday Times

"Ingenuous pop" **** The Independent

Buffalo is the latest album from kaleidoscopic pop group The Phoenix Foundation (Sam Flynn Scott – vocals/guitar, Luke Buda - vocals/guitar, Conrad Wedde - guitarist/keys player, Tom Callwood - bass, Richie Singleton – drums and Will Ricketts - percussion)  whose last album, Happy Ending – originally released on the legendary Flying Nun label – had critics hailing them as New Zealand’s best kept secret

Now signed to Memphis Industries in the UK, home to friends and fellow countrymen The Ruby Suns, The Phoenix Foundation are set to remain a secret no longer.

From intelligent and infectiously catchy pop/rock gems, to epic, psychedelic prog rock, The Phoenix Foundation’s music is a glorious pop polyglot, combining sun bleached harmonies, chiming guitars, progressive synth scapes and subliminal rhythms to glorious effect. Slung between romance and absurdity, their music can move you to tears, make you laugh out loud, or whisk you away into another world, without ever losing its poise. And, already a hit down under, where it has spent five consecutive weeks in the top ten, Buffalo is the band’s warmest most loveable recording yet.

“We kind of felt like this record was a reaction to the pop sound of Happy Ending, but despite all our attempts to create un-settling new sounds on this record Buffalo has this consistent breeziness,” says lead singer Sam.

Since releasing Happy Ending, The Phoenix Foundation’s world has become a lot bigger, their music travelling around the world and the band following in its wake, hitting the UK, the US and various parts of mainland Europe.   The band have also lent their skills to score Oscar nominated Kiwi director Taiki Waititi’s films Eagle Versus Shark and 2010’s Berlin Film Festival winning Boy.

Buffalo is The Phoenix Foundation’s most collaborative and unique work to date with all six members chipping in with the song writing plus helping hands having been given from compatriots Connan Mockasin and Lawrence Arabia.

The record was self-recorded in the band’s practice space at the Wellington Car Club, a drafty old shed shared with a bunch of rally driving enthusiasts. The band named it Buffalo after the song of the same name, so titled because the drums sound like a stampede. “As a word, it just seemed so tidy and to the point,” says Sam “this album is a god dang Buffalo, milk it at your own risk”.    Album highlights include the spacey groove of Pot, the aforementioned Buffalo and the epic pop sweep of Flock of Hearts – all in all the record is summed up neatly by guitarist Luke; Buffalo is Fun. Fun in the studio.  Fun on headphones”.